Field Recording Research (22nd October)

I’ve done a bit of reading on field recording this morning. I have also bought a windjammer from Amazon for my mic, so once that’s here I’m sure the quality of my recordings will go up (it seems really windy at the moment so it’s definitely needed).

http://music.tutsplus.com/tutorials/a-beginners-guide-to-field-recording-pt-1–audio-1785

This was a very simple guide and I don’t think I learned a lot of technique from it, but it was a good introduction nonetheless.

http://www.soundandmusic.org/resources/artists-toolkit/how-tos/fieldrecording

I found this article very useful. It seems more focussed on the ‘hows’ of recording rather than a reminder to take a bottle of water with you! I feel quite confident after reading this article although I’m sure once I get out into the field I’ll find it more difficult!

http://publish.illinois.edu/johntubbs/recording-with-the-zoom-digital-audio-recorders/

I have a Zoom H2N recorder but it’s been a while since I used it, so I decided to read up on recording with it to refresh my mind of how it works. Definitely a useful endeavour.

I’m going to try and get out to do some field recording by the lake on campus this afternoon.

Leave a Reply

